Michael Leali In Store Launch For His New Middle Grade Novel "The Truth About Triangles"

 

Join us on Monday, May 20 at 6:30pm when acclaimed Oakland author MICHAEL LEALI comes to launch his new middle grade novel The Truth About Triangles. Michael will read from, discuss, and sign copies of his book and will be joined in discussion by author A. J. SASS. This heartfelt and contemporary story, perfect for fans of Front Desk, follows Luca Salvatore, a young gay Italian American trying to save his family’s pizza restaurant and a life that feels like it’s falling apart after he learns that his parents may be separating and his first crush and best friend might be into each other.

This is a free event, but you must pre-register on Eventbrite or in the store to ensure seating. Click Here to preorder a copy of The Truth About Triangles.

Twelve-year-old Luca Salvatore is always running interference: in arguments between his younger twin siblings, in his parents’ troubled marriage, and between Will, the cute new boy in town, and Luca’s best friend, June, who just can’t seem to get along.

When the host of his favorite culinary TV show announces an open call for submissions for its final season, Luca is sure getting his family's failing pizzeria on the show will save it and bring his falling-apart family together. Surprisingly, securing a spot is easier than kneading dough—but when the plan to fix everything comes out burnt, Luca is left scrambling to figure out just the right recipe to bring his family and his friends back together.

From Lambda Literary Award finalist Michael Leali, The Truth About Triangles is full of heart and is perfect for readers of Lisa Jenn Bigelow, Kelly Yang, and Maulik Pancholy.

MICHAEL LEALI (he/him) is an award-winning writer and educator. He earned his MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. He is the author of the Golden Kite Award–winning novel The Civil War of Amos Abernathy and Matteo. Born and raised in the suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, Michael currently lives in Oakland.

A. J. SASS (he/they) is the author of the ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 titles Ellen Outside the Lines, which was also a Sydney Taylor Honor Book, and Ana on the Edge, as well as Camp QUILTBAG (co-written with Nicole Melleby). He grew up in the Midwest and South, spending many of his summers with his family enjoying the beautiful Northwoods lakes and scenery in Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. He now lives in Oakland with his husband and two cats who act like dogs. He invites you to visit him online at sassinsf.com.

THIS EVENT is free but pre-registration is requested. Registration ends at 5:00 pm on May 20th.

BECAUSE SEATING is limited, please register only if you plan to attend.

DUE TO SPACE limitations, we may not be able to accommodate every person at an event, so early registration is encouraged.

WALK-INS will be accommodated only if space allows.

WE ASK that attendees arrive between 6:15 and 6:30PM for the event.

PLEASE leave your non-support companion animals at home.

OUR shared restrooms are not accessible after 6:30 PM, please plan accordingly.

Monday, May 20, 2024 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
Mrs. Dalloway's Bookstore
2904 College Avenue
Berkeley, CA 94705
Pre-Order Now Badge
The Truth About Triangles By Michael Leali Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063337367
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 21st, 2024