Lucy Jane Bledsoe

East Bay launch for her story collection, Lava Falls.

“From Antarctica to suburbia to the ancient past and a post-apocalyptic future, these tales of kick-ass women adventurers and survivor girls are big-hearted, breathtaking, and profound. Reading Lava Falls is like meeting an animal in the wild: I was rapt, unable to turn away, with no idea what would happen next."—Micah Perks, author of What Becomes Us

To reserve your seat, please purchase a copy of Lava Falls by speaking to a bookseller or ordering via our website.

Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 7:30pm

The spirited, heart-driven people who populate these stories find surprising pockets of hope as they scrabble for ways to believe in themselves and the world. A woman returns to the Alaskan cabin of her survivalist childhood, full of misgivings and memories. A trip to Yellowstone sparks a crisis for a man who feels kinship with the wolves he glimpses there. Nursing painful pasts, sisters take a cruise together to Antarctica. A runaway finds salvation from violence in her own singing. And in the title novella, a Grand Canyon rafting expedition profoundly changes the lives of six women.

Lucy Jane Bledsoe is the author of The Evolution of Love, A Thin Bright Line, The Big Bang Symphony, and The Ice Cave. She lives in Berkeley.

Event address: 
2904 College Avenue
Berkeley, CA 94705
Lava Falls Cover Image
ISBN: 9780299318505
Availability: Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.
Published: University of Wisconsin Press - September 25th, 2018