Gretchen Anthony Presents Her Novel "Tired Ladies Take a Stand"

 

Join us on Friday, May 17th, 7pm when author GRETCHEN ANTHONY comes to the store to read from and discuss her new novel Tired Ladies Take a Stand. Gretchen will be joined in conversation by RENEE RIVERA and will sign copies of her book after the presentation.

"Do yourself a favor and say yes to the perfect bookish escape." —Lucy Gilmore, author of The Lonely Hearts Book Club

This is a free event, but you must pre-register on Eventbrite or in the store to ensure seating. Click Here to preorder a copy of Tired Ladies Take a Stand.

From the Alex Award-winning author Gretchen Anthony, a new novel following four 40-something best friends who make a pact to say No! to all the impossible expectations and mountains of busywork placed on them as women with hilarious results, perfect for fans of The Authenticity Project and Funny You Should Ask.

You've heard of "Year of Yes." Introducing... "Year of No." During one unforgettable year in their twenties, best friends Emma, Fern, Carolina, and Andi make a pact to embrace whatever life throws at them, inspiring Fern to write a memoir detailing their escapades and the magical power of saying Yes.

But fast forward 20 years and they have reached their bandwidth of responsibilities. Fern is a full-time writer struggling to pay the bills. Carolina is a fitness-obsessed workaholic. Andi is a disillusioned human rights lawyer. And Emma is a stressed-out divorcée in the thick of planning her daughter’s wedding. To reconnect to the fun, fulfilled women they were before, they must learn how to stop saying Yes to everything asked of them. And so begins the "Year of No."

Heartfelt, emotionally perceptive and sharply funny, Tired Ladies Take a Stand celebrates the bonds of female friendship and women reclaiming their autonomy in a world that expects them to do it all.

GRETCHEN ANTHONY is the award-winning author of The Kids Are Gonna Ask, recipient of the 2021 Alex Award from the American Library Association. Her debut novel, Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners, was a Midwestern Connections Pick and a best books pick by Amazon, BookBub, PopSugar, and the New York Post. Her work has been featured in The Washington Post, Medium, and The Write Life, among others. She lives in Minneapolis with her family.

RENEE RIVERA is the Senior Director of Enterprise Applications at Intel Corporation. She is also a real-life friend of Gretchen Anthony and the inspiration for Carolina Kahele's character in Tired Ladies Take a Stand. Professionally, Renee is a seasoned tech veteran with 20+ years of experience, initially diving into the industry through consulting and later working for a number of large Silicon Valley-based companies. When not entrenched in work, she is an avid landscape photographer and outdoor enthusiast, leading backpacking trips for the Sierra Club and indulging in snowboarding, cross-country skiing, and hiking.

THIS EVENT is free but pre-registration is requested. Registration ends at 5:30 pm on May 17th.

BECAUSE SEATING is limited, please register only if you plan to attend.

DUE TO SPACE limitations, we may not be able to accommodate every person at an event, so early registration is encouraged.

WALK-INS will be accommodated only if space allows.

WE ASK that attendees arrive between 6:45 and 7:00 PM for the event.

PLEASE leave your non-support companion animals at home.

OUR shared restrooms are not accessible after 6:30 PM, please plan accordingly.

 

Friday, May 17, 2024 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
Mrs. Dalloway's Bookstore
2904 College Avenue
Berkeley, CA 94705
Tired Ladies Take a Stand By Gretchen Anthony Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780778307969
Availability: Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.
Published: Park Row - May 14th, 2024