Carolina Ixta is visiting BHS on 4/11/24!

 

      

We are thrilled to announce that CAROLINA IXTA will be visiting Berkeley High on Thursday, April 11th  to discuss Shut Up, This Is Serious an unforgettable YA debut about two Latina teens growing up in East Oakland as they discover that the world is brimming with messy complexities, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Erika L. Sánchez.

To order signed and discounted copies, see below.

Belén Dolores Itzel del Toro wants the normal stuff: to experience love or maybe have a boyfriend or at least just lose her virginity. But nothing is normal in East Oakland. Her father left her family. She’s at risk of not graduating. And Leti, her super-Catholic, nerdy-ass best friend, is pregnant—by the boyfriend she hasn’t told her parents about because he’s Black and her parents are racist.

Things are hella complicated.

Weighed down by a depression she can’t seem to shake, Belén helps Leti, hangs out with an older guy, and cuts a lot of class. She soon realizes, though, that distractions are only temporary. Leti is becoming a mother. Classmates are getting ready for college. But what about Belén? What future is there for girls like her?

CAROLINA IXTA is a writer from Oakland. A daughter of Mexican immigrants, she received her BA in creative writing and Spanish language and literature at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and obtained her master’s degree in education at the University of California, Berkeley. She is currently an elementary school teacher whose pedagogy centers critical race theory at the primary education level.

Discounted and signed copies of Shut Up, This Is Serious will be available exclusively from Mrs. Dalloway's from March 14 - April 12th. BHS students and families can order copies online and receive a 15% discount by entering the Coupon Code, SHUT UPCopies can be picked up at Mrs. Dalloway's bookstore starting March 14th. Students who pick up their book before the event will have to bring their copies to the event to be signed. If you prefer, copies ordered before 5 pm on Tuesday, April 9th can be delivered to Berkeley High for the event. Books purchased after 5pm on April 9th will have to be picked up at Mrs. Dalloway's Bookstore. The 15% discount is available until 6pm on Friday, April 12th.

Please carefully read all instructions below before clicking the book cover to order!

To apply 15% discount to your order:

· Add Book(s) to Cart

· View Cart (You must "view cart" to add coupon code for 15% discount.)

· Add Coupon Code: SHUT UP

· Click "Apply to Order"

· Proceed to Checkout

**You must check the box "I would like to pick this order up at the store" even if you want the book delivered to BHS.

**In the Order Comments field at the bottom of the page, you must enter your student's name AND please note if you will be picking up the book from Mrs. Dalloway's. Books can be picked up at Mrs. Dalloway's starting March 14th. If nothing is noted, books ordered by April 9th at 5pm will be delivered to BHS and will be available for pickup at the event on April 11th.

· Discount will be applied when you pay.

***IMPORTANT: Don't forget to enter your student's name In the Order Comments field at the bottom of the page!***

Shut Up, This Is Serious By Carolina Ixta Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063287860
Availability: Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.
Published: Quill Tree Books - January 9th, 2024