A Hundred Vicious Turns (The Broken Tower Book 1) (Hardcover)

A Hundred Vicious Turns (The Broken Tower Book 1) By Lee Paige O'Brien Cover Image
$19.99
Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.

Description


The heir to an arcane bloodline must outwit their ambitious rival to stop a ruthless magical adversary in Lee Paige O’Brien’s A Hundred Vicious Turns, a YA fantasy debut—first in The Broken Tower series—perfect for fans of A Lesson in Vengeance and Hell Followed With Us.

Rat Evans, nonbinary heir to one of the oldest magical bloodlines in New York, doesn’t cast spells anymore. For as long as Rat can remember, they’ve been surrounded by doorways no one else sees and corridors that aren’t on any map. Then one day, they opened a passage and found a broken tower in a field of weeds—and something followed them back.

When Rat is accepted into Bellamy Arts, all they want is a place to hide and to make sure they never open another passageway again. But when the only other person who knows what really happened last year—Harker Blakely, the dangerously gifted trans boy who used to be Rat’s closest friend—turns up on campus, Rat begins to realize that Bellamy Arts might not be as safe as they’d thought. And the tower might not be through with them yet.

Soon, Rat finds themself caught in a web of secrets and long-buried magic, with their friend-turned-enemy at their throat. But the closer they come to uncovering the truth about the tower, the further they’re drawn toward the unsettling powers that threaten to swallow them whole.

About the Author


Lee Paige O’Brien (he/they) is an author and literary agent from New York, where he writes queer fantasy books about strange magic and monsters of all kinds.

Praise For…


"A twisting, creeping mystery full of tenuous friendships, difficult choices, and beautiful magic: for every trans kid longing for an enchanted school to accept them as they are, A Hundred Vicious Turns is here. A spellbinding debut you won’t want to miss!"—Andrew Joseph White, New York Times bestselling author of Hell Followed With Us

"Lee Paige O’Brien delivers a dark academia full to the brim with secrets. A Hundred Vicious Turns combines everything I love about fantasy to create an inclusive tale that proves magic school is for everyone. A spellbinding magical mystery!"—Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars

Fascinating lore and an intriguing magic system combine to create a world readers will love exploring. Dark, thrilling, and fantastical.—Kirkus

"Rat is nonbinary, and Harker is a trans man, and their friends-enemies-lovers relationship arc is a high point in the novel "—School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419765155
ISBN-10: 1419765159
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Publication Date: September 12th, 2023
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: The Broken Tower