My Daddy Is a Cowboy: A Picture Book (Hardcover)

My Daddy Is a Cowboy: A Picture Book By Stephanie Seales, C. G. Esperanza (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Stephanie Seales, C. G. Esperanza (Illustrator)
$18.99
Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.

Description


A young girl and her father share an early morning horseback ride around their city in My Daddy Is a Cowboy, a picture book celebration of “just-us time,” perfect for fans of My Papi Has a Motocycle.
 
Tall. High as the clouds.
Strong as a horse’s back.
Like a cowboy.
 
In the early hours before dawn, a young girl and her father greet their horses and ride together through the waking city streets. As they trot along, Daddy tells cowboy stories filled with fun and community, friendship, discovery, and pride. Seeing her city from a new vantage point and feeling seen in a new way, the child discovers that she too is a cowboy—strong and confident in who she is.
 
Thoughtfully and lyrically written by debut author Stephanie Seales, with vibrant illustrations from award-winning artist C. G. Esperanza, this beautiful picture book is a celebration of Black joy, outdoor play, and quality time spent between child and parent.

About the Author


C. G. Esperanza is the second of six cool kids. The South Bronx is where he first opened his eyelids. A dope land shrouded in bright-colored decay, the home of graffiti and hip-hop DJs! He paints funky elephants! Bodegas, too! Mixed with this wonder is some whimsical truth. Esperanza has a voice that is seldom heard. A fusion of jazz, distorted guitars, and chirping birds. Esperanza is also the author-illustrator of Red, Yellow, Blue (and a Dash of White, Too!). He lives in the Bronx.

Praise For…


***STARRED REVIEW***
"[Q]uiet yet energetic...Vibrant colors and abstract design embellishments convey the immense pleasure and freedom felt by both father and child as they connect over horseback riding. A magical celebration of family, freedom, and Black joy."
— Kirkus
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419760815
ISBN-10: 1419760815
Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 48
Language: English