Best Friends (Real Friends #2) (Paperback)

Best Friends (Real Friends #2) Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$12.99
Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Real Friends series.

Description


A National and New York Times Bestseller!

The creators of Real Friends Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham are back with a true story about popularity, first crushes, and finding your own path in the graphic novel, Best Friends.

Follow your heart. Find your people.

Sixth grade is supposed to be perfect. Shannon’s got a sure spot in the in-crowd called The Group, and her best friend is their leader, Jen, the most popular girl in school.

But the rules are always changing, and Shannon has to scramble to keep up. She never knows which TV shows are cool, what songs to listen to, and who she’s allowed to talk to. Who makes these rules, anyway? And does Shannon have to follow them?

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2019
A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of 2019
A National Public Radio (NPR) Best Book of 2019
One of NBC Today's 26 Best Kids' Books of 2019
2020 Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Books of the Year List

About the Author


Shannon Hale is the New York Times bestselling author of over thirty books, including fantasy novels The Goose Girl and Book of a Thousand Days, science fiction novel Dangerous, Newbery Honor winner Princess Academy, graphic novel memoirs Real Friends and Best Friends (with LeUyen Pham), and romantic comedy Austenland (now a major motion picture starring Keri Russell). She lives in Utah with her husband and frequent collaborator Dean Hale, their four remarkable children, and two ridiculous cats named Misty Knight and Mike Hat.

LEUYEN PHAM worked in animation before turning to children’s books. She wrote and illustrated Big Sister, Little Sister and The Bear Who Wasn't There, and is the illustrator of numerous other picture books. Ms. Pham lives in Los Angeles, California, with her husband.

Praise For…


“Somehow, Hale and Pham have made the “normal girl” into the ultimate cool girl.” —The New York Times Book Review

“This uncommonly honest portrayal of the lures and pitfalls of popularity will likely ring true to many elementary and middle-school readers.” —Booklist, starred review

“A terrific look at middle school culture . . . This authentic, important book will mean a great deal to many kids.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“A must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier or Victoria Jamieson . . . This glimpse into middle school is insightful, introspective, and important.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A natural suggestion for fans of Cece Bell and Raina Telgemeier, this book offers an honest, empathetic, and encouraging narrative for young readers braving the ups and downs of the tween years.” —Horn Book


Praise for Real Friends:

“Fresh and funny.” —New York Times Book Review

“The book's truth is as vibrant as its art.” —Washington Post

"I have two boys, they love these books. They love to talk about the friendships, I love that I am discussing all of these issues through the lives of these girls. There is something about it that's so wonderful." —NPR

“Wistful, affecting, and utterly charming.” —Booklist, starred review

“A heart-stabbing tale of the everyday social agonies of girlhood.” —Wall Street Journal

“Shows us the incredible kindness and solidarity that girls can and do display.” —The Mary Sue

“Bound to resonate with most readers, especially fans of Raina Telgemeier.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“A wonderfully observed portrait of finding one’s place in your world.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Nails what it’s like to navigate elementary-school friendships.” —Parents Magazine

“Sure to be loved by anyone who has ever felt like an outsider.” —Victoria Jamieson, New York Times–bestselling and Newbery Honor author of Roller Girl

“Fresh, fun, and achingly real. Bravo!” —Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times–bestselling and Newbery Honor author and co-creator of Sunny Side Up and the Babymouse series

“This book is SO GOOD. SO MANY FEELS.” —Gene Luen Yang, American Born Chinese

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250317469
ISBN-10: 1250317460
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: August 27th, 2019
Pages: 256
Series: Real Friends