The Truth About Triangles (Hardcover)

The Truth About Triangles By Michael Leali Cover Image
$19.99
Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.

Description


A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel perfect for fans of Front Desk, following Luca Salvatore, a young gay Italian American trying to save his family’s pizza restaurant and a life that feels like it’s falling apart after he learns that his parents may be separating and his first crush and best friend might be into each other.

Twelve-year-old Luca Salvatore is always running interference: in arguments between his younger twin siblings, in his parents’ troubled marriage, and between Will, the cute new boy in town, and Luca’s best friend, June, who just can’t seem to get along.

When the host of his favorite culinary TV show announces an open call for submissions for its final season, Luca is sure getting his family's failing pizzeria on the show will save it and bring his falling-apart family together. Surprisingly, securing a spot is easier than kneading dough—but when the plan to fix everything comes out burned, Luca is left scrambling to figure out just the right recipe to bring his family and his friends back together.

From Lambda Literary finalist Michael Leali, The Truth About Triangles is full of heart, perfect for readers of Lisa Jenn Bigelow, Kelly Yang, and Maulik Pancholy.

About the Author


Michael Leali is an award-winning writer and educator. He earned his MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. He is the author of the Golden Kite Award–winning novel The Civil War of Amos Abernathy and Matteo. Born and raised in the suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, Michael currently lives in California.

 

Praise For…


“Luca Salvatore is a delightful hero with a lot on his (pizza) plate! The Truth About Triangles draws readers in with humor and heart as Luca attempts to save his family business while navigating his parents’ separation and his first crush.” — Janae Marks, New York Times bestselling author of On Air with Zoe Washington

“A big-hearted, generous book about family, friendship, and first crushes. There’s nothing cheesy about The Truth About Triangles (except the pizza). I loved it.”  — Elana K. Arnold, Award-winning author of A Boy Called Bat and Damsel

The Truth about Triangles is sure to satiate middle-grade readers hungry for good old-fashioned sibling rivalry, lighthearted best-friend fights, entertaining entrepreneurial insights, and exceptional LGBTQIA+ representation. — Booklist

“Satisfying.” — Kirkus Reviews

"Leali's perfectly balanced recipe of family, friendship, and first crushes shines in this compelling love letter to Italian family life. Madonna mia, I loved this book!"   — Katryn Bury, author of the critically acclaimed Drew Leclair mysteries

“Leali writes a character with the entire weight of his family on his shoulders with the care and gentleness that Luca deserves; a heartfelt, humorous story about a kid doing his very best to balance life (and pizza) when the odds are stacked against him.” — Nicole Melleby, award winning author of Hurricane Season

Leali serves up a delightful slice-of-life story that is equal parts humor and heart. Luca is a masterfully written character whose voice shines on the page as he navigates a perfect storm of disruptions in his life, from his parents' separation to increased babysitting duties with his younger twin siblings to a blossoming crush. The Truth About Triangles is as perfectly layered as a deep dish pizza - and just as satisfying. — A. J. Sass, award winning author of Ellen Outside the Lines

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063337367
ISBN-10: 0063337363
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 21st, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English