Lunar Boy (Paperback)

Lunar Boy By Jes and Cin Wibowo, Jes and Cin Wibowo (Illustrator) Cover Image
$15.99
Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.

Description


For fans of The Witch Boy and Squished, Lunar Boy is a must-have heartwarming coming-of-age graphic novel about a young boy from the moon who discovers a home in the most unlikely places, from debut twin creators Jes and Cin Wibowo.

Indu, a boy from the moon, feels like he doesn’t belong. He hasn’t since he and his adoptive mom disembarked from their spaceship—their home—to live on Earth with their new blended family. The kids at school think he’s weird, he has a crush on his pen pal who might not like him back, and his stepfamily doesn’t seem to know what to do with him. Worst of all, Indu can’t even talk to his mom about how he’s feeling because she’s so busy.

In a moment of loneliness, Indu calls out to the moon, begging them to take him back. And against all odds, the moon hears him and agrees to bring him home on the first day of the New Year. But as the promised day draws nearer, Indu finds friendship in unlikely places and discovers that home is more than where you come from. And when the moon calls again, Indu must decide: Is he willing to give up what he’s just found?

About the Author


Jes and CIn Wibowo are Chinese Indonesian twins born in Jakarta. As Third Culture Kids, they spent their early childhood years moving back and forth between the US and Indonesia. The two both graduated with a BFA and eventually an MFA in sequential arts from Savannah College of Art and Design. They're currently based in Jakarta, eating comfort food and being perpetually culture-shocked wherever they go.



Jes and CIn Wibowo are Chinese Indonesian twins born in Jakarta. As Third Culture Kids, they spent their early childhood years moving back and forth between the US and Indonesia. The two both graduated with a BFA and eventually an MFA in sequential arts from Savannah College of Art and Design. They're currently based in Jakarta, eating comfort food and being perpetually culture-shocked wherever they go.

Praise For…


"A radiant palette of warm, sun-drenched pinks and oranges underscore the vibrant community of care and support that envelop Indu. Reminiscent of Le Petit Prince, this lustrous debut graphic novel signals a much brighter future for its protagonist and those who relate to him." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This luminously illustrated graphic novel offers readers a lovely story of change, understanding, identity, and belonging. Stellar: both heartbreaking and heartwarming." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"With gorgeous, imaginative, sci-fi art steeped in Indonesian culture, Lunar Boy is a must-have tale of belonging that reclaims the rich queer history of the pre-colonial past for the post-colonial future. This graphic novel made me feel so warm and hopeful." — Xiran Jay Zhao, author of New York Times bestselling Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor

"Lunar Boy is a salve for the yearning heart! A wonderfully vibrant and wholesome story of found family, and the importance of community." — Bre Indigo, co-author of Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy, The Dog Knight, and Northranger

"A beautiful tale of acceptance and finding where you belong even within the vastness of space! Perfect for young readers looking for a positive and uplifting story about identity and family." — Kay Davault, author of Misfit Mansion and Star Knights

"A poignant, heartfelt story about searching for understanding and community, Lunar Boy dazzles with beautiful color palettes, luxurious indigenous sci-fi futurism, and diverse characters from start to finish. Uplifting, heartbreaking, inspiring, and everything in between. A stellar debut." — Zachary Sterling, author of Mabuhay!

"A beautifully blended story that connects the importance of communication, respect, patience, and understanding." — Joanna Cacao, author of The Secret of the Ravens

"Lunar Boy is both tender and ethereal. With vibrant illustrations and an affirming queer narrative, Jes and Cin have created a rich world that will leave readers starry-eyed." — Elle Pierre, author of Evelyn and Avery: The Art of Friendship

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063057593
ISBN-10: 006305759X
Publisher: HarperAlley
Publication Date: May 14th, 2024
Pages: 240
Language: English