The Thing About Georgie (Paperback)

The Thing About Georgie By Lisa Graff Cover Image
$9.99
Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.

Description


Fans of Kate DiCamillo and R. J. Palacio will love The Thing About Georgie, a warm and humorous story starring an unforgettable young boy with dwarfism, from acclaimed author Lisa Graff.

"An upbeat and sensitive look at what it's like to be different, this novel will spark discussion.” (Booklist)

As far as Georgie is concerned, everyone has a "thing."

The thing about poodles is that Georgie Bishop hates to walk them.

The thing about Jeanie the Meanie is that she would rather write on her shoe than help Georgie with their Abraham Lincoln project.

The thing about Andy's nonna is that she kisses Georgie's cheeks and doesn't speak one word of English.

The thing about Georgie's mom is that she's having a baby—a baby who will probably be taller than Georgie very, very soon.

The thing about Georgie . . . well, what is the thing about Georgie?

About the Author


Lisa Graff is the author of The Life and Crimes of Bernetta Wallflower and The Thing About Georgie, which was named to nine state reading lists. Lisa grew up in a small California town very much like the one in this novel and received an MFA in writing for children from the New School.

Praise For…


"A likable hero, Georgie is realistically drawn, and inventive suggestions at the start of many chapters will help readers understand some aspects of life as a little person. A compelling portrayal of dwarfism, differences and growing up." — Kirkus Reviews

“Graff employs a light touch, turning in a poignant, often funny exploration of what it means to celebrate one's skills rather than lamenting one's limitations An upbeat and sensitive look at what it's like to be different, this novel will spark discussion.” — Booklist

"This is a remarkable story of maturation, featuring a boy whose growing up is not evident on the tape measure he keeps hidden in the back of his closet. This entertaining and thoughtful read will encourage youngsters to consider the true meaning of growth.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This first novel uses the unconventional tactic of introducing its main character by inviting readers to touch their left ears with their right hands, something that young Georgie cannot do, 'because the thing was, Georgie Bishop was a dwarf.' [Graff] sensitively and accurately depicts the emotions he struggles with. In Georgie, Graff has created a likable, realistic fourth-grader who is a dwarf, and more.” — The Horn Book

Product Details
ISBN: 9780060875916
ISBN-10: 0060875917
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 26th, 2008
Pages: 224
Language: English