The Mapmaker's Daughter (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Mapmaker's Daughter By Clare Marchant Cover Image
$16.99
Not Yet Published

Description


'Oh my word... fantastic... The] stories intertwine so beautifully, it's truly amazing. Such a lot of research must have to have been done but so worth it. I can't recommend this book enough.' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Could a rediscovered map show her the way?

Present day: When thirty-six-year-old Robyn Willoughby discovers an exquisite yet blood-stained Tudor map in her father's antique map shop, desperate for a distraction from her problems, she decides to investigate. But as Robyn delves into the mystery, she finds herself caught up in a centuries-old secret - one that will change her life forever.

1569: Forced to flee Holland to escape persecution, twenty-year-old Freida Ortelius uses her mapmaking skills to start anew in London. Soon her rare talent catches the eye of Queen Elizabeth, who demands Freida's help in fighting the Spanish threat. Freida must now embark on a deadly mission, the consequences of which will echo down the ages...

A sweeping and heartbreaking read, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers adore The Mapmaker's Daughter:

'Loved this... the characters were brilliant and the storyline was amazing, wonderfully written and descriptive, could not put it down.' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'This book has it all: history, intrigue, suspense, mystery, and a gripping narrative that kept me engaged from beginning to end.' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Loved this book ... Great characters and story that intertwined. Highly recommended.' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A joy to read... I loved the characters and the way the plot of both times weaved and intwined... Excellent.' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Fascinating I would recommend this book to all lovers of historical fiction without hesitation.' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the Author


Growing up in Surrey, Clare always dreamed of being a writer. Instead, after gaining a degree in history and an MA in women's studies she accidentally fell into a career in IT. After spending many years as a project manager in London, she moved to Norfolk for a quieter life and trained as a professional jeweller.Now, finally writing full-time, she lives with her husband and the youngest two of her six children. This is her third novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780008454388
ISBN-10: 0008454388
Publisher: Avon Books
Publication Date: December 13th, 2022
Language: English