Here at the Shop

Step by Step

THE WEEKLY VIEW
 
July 1, 2020
 
The Open sign is not fully up yet, but we are working on it! We need to make sure we have all the necessary equipment and supplies for our staff as well as making the interior layout spacious for visitors. We are truly looking forward to greeting you at the front door and will send out another update when we have a solid date--Watch This Space!
 
In the meantime, please do continue to order on our website, email us at info@mrsdalloways.com for help and recommendations, or phone us (510.704.8222) to pre-pay for books that are available now on our shelves. Need more information? Check out our new FAQ information sheet to find out how to buy books, get recommendations, pick up orders, and more. Click here to read all about it. 
 
And please remember to come and pick up your orders. Pickup hours are 10-4 Monday-Saturday except for July 4 when we will close for Independence Day.
 

Again, your support has been vital and heartwarming and we’ll meet mask to mask soon.


NEW HARDCOVER RELEASES

Sex and Vanity by Kevin Kwan. The author of the bestselling Crazy Rich Asians returns with the glittering tale of a young woman who finds herself torn between two men: the WASPY fiancé of her family's dreams and George Zao, the man she is desperately trying to avoid falling in love with.

Friends and Strangers by J. Courtney Sullivan. An insightful novel that explores the complex relationship between two women - Elisabeth, a privileged new mother and writer attempting to find her footing after childbirth, and Sam, the idealistic, working-class college student she hires to nanny her young son.

Nine Shiny Objects by Brian Castleberry. An impressive debut novel that weaves overlapping narratives of the lives of disparate characters into a story that spirals around a utopian community led by a UFO-inspired charlatan, exploring American idealism and despair.

Blue Ticket by Sophie Mackintosh. Set in ther near-future, this haunting dystopian tale of a young woman who rebels against a state-controlled program of forced birth control is perfect for fans of The Handmaids Tale. "This tense, visionary drama is a notable addition to the growing body of patriarchal dystopias." - Publishers Weekly

In the Hands of the People: Thomas Jefferson on Equality, Faith, Freedom, Compromise, and the Art of Citizenship by Jon Meacham. The Pulitzer Prize-winning historian offers a collection of inspiring words from Jefferson about how to be a good citizen, reminding us why our country's founding principles are still so important today.

Use the Power You Have: A Brown Woman's Guide to Politics and Political Change by Pramila Jayapal. The first Indian American woman to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives (in 2016) and co-chair of the House Progressive Caucus recounts her political rise in a memoir filled with hope and spirit.

NEW PAPERBACK RELEASES

                       

MYSTERY PAGE-TURNERS IN PAPERBACK

            

BOOKS FOR SUMMER FUN!

                           


 

We miss seeing you in the store but did you know we're still available to help find the perfect book for your young reader?  Send an email to info@mrsdalloways.com, and one of our children's specialists will reply with suggestions just for you!   

Looking for great books to read this summer?  Click the links below:

       

Purchase a book from our kids' summer reading lists and receive a tiny Art Surprise - signed original artwork from a children's book illustrator! Be sure to mention Art Surprise when you order. Offer good while supplies last.


  
Practice Antiracism.  Choose books with Black main characters. Read books written by Black authors.  Seek out books that celebrate Black lives.  Children's books are powerful tools for starting critical conversations and for changing attitudes.

Below are 10 books our children's specialists suggest to get you started.  Click here for more suggestions. We'll be updating frequently. 

                   

We strongly urge you to check out last week's #KidLit4BlackLives Rally which included the biggest names in kid's literature:  Kwame Alexander, Jacqueline Woodson, Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, Gene Yang, and many more.  (Note: the actual event begins at minute 10:08 of the video). 


FABULOUS BOOK LISTS AND RESOURCES FOR FAMILIES AND KIDS

Our children's books specialists have compiled a wonderful list of children books for various ages and interests. The lists were organized for teachers and others educators, but they serve as great resources for families as well. And as new titles are bering published, the lists are being regularly updated and refreshed. The list of New and Noteworthy Books is part of the For Families and Educators tab at the top of our home page.  All the book covers have live links that take you a page with full descriptions and an online order option.

Also, be sure to check out the Resources page for Families & Educators. While we've been Sheltering In Place, some of our favorite authors and celebrities have been recording themselves at home reading their best-loved children's books. The Resources page has some of our top picks.


SUPPORT THE BERKELEY PUBLIC SCHOOLS FUND BOOK PROJECT WITH YOUR DONATIONS!

Editor's Note: As of June 15, the Book Project has raised more than $4000. That will buy a lot of books - thank you to all donors!

The Berkeley community is working hard right now to get books into the hands of our students, especially those who do not have access to books at home. Your donations to the Berkeley Public Schools Fund Book Project will help us purchase high-interest books for our youngest readers, K-5. These books will be distributed directly to families at BUSD's new Ed Hub. Please give whatever you can - donate here. Thank you for supporting the love of reading in Berkeley Unified School District!


LISTEN UP - Audiobooks from Libro.fm

We're delighted to be offering our customers an independent source for audiobooks, offered through our partnership with Libro.fm. Here's a little about the company, in its own words: 

"By choosing Libro.fm over other audiobook services, you support your local bookstore and invest in your local community. We offer over 125,000 audiobooks via our premium platform (which we built with love from scratch) and give you bookseller recommendations for great audiobooks. And when you contact us, you'll hear directly from one of our team members who will ensure your listening experience is unmatched."

Interested? Sign up and get your first selection for free!

 


LITTLE LIBRARY

Give Children in Your Life the Gift of Books! 

Start a library for the young reader in your life with Mrs. Dalloway's Little Library subscription service! 

We've made it easier than ever to sign up and tell us about your young reader's interests, allowing our expert staff to choose books that will engage and delight. If you look on the left-hand column of this page, you'll see a Little Library link — simply click on the image above to be taken to our Subscription page.


Next Event

We’re excited to host the virtual launch of The Book of Fatal Errors, a tale of friendship, magic, and eternal life, an evocative and witty middle-grade fantasy--by local favorite--award-winning author Dashka Slater!

"A fun, emotionally driven fairy story...an excellent readalike for The Spiderwick Chronicles...recommended for any young fantasy fans."-- School Library Journal

For instructions to register with Crowdcast, and to order the book from Mrs. Dalloway's, please see below.

Saturday, July 11, 2020 - 11:00am to 1:00pm
The Book of Fatal Errors (The Feylawn Chronicles #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374301194
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - July 7th, 2020

Rufus doesn't just make mistakes - he makes fatal errors. Clumsy and awkward, he feels entrapped by his teasing classmates and their constant laughter. But now it is summer. Rufus is free.

New and Recommended

Twitter