Here at the Shop

Return of Author Events a Big Hit

 

NEW ARRIVALS

HARDCOVER

     

      

PAPERBACK

       

      

CHILDREN

      

    


LIVE EVENTS ARE BACK!

Longtime KQED journalist DAVE IVERSON, author of the moving memoir  Winter Stars: An Elderly Mother, An Aging Son, and Life's Final Journey was on hand last Thursday to relaunch our in-person Author Event program. More than three dozen people signed up in advance on Eventbrite,  allowing us to monitor attendance numbers and create a welcoming but safe environment.

Above, Dave speaks to the audience about his book and below, he poses with Mrs. Dalloway's owners Jessica and Eric Green.


OUR NEXT AUTHOR EVENT

Wednesday, June 1, 7pm - SOLD OUT!

CAPACITY FOR THIS EVENT HAS NOW BEEN REACHED. If you would like to be added to  our waiting list, please sign up at this link no later than 4pm on June 1

Join us for ELIF BATUMAN discussing her highly anticipated new book Either/Or. The novel is a sequel to The Idiot, which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and continues her beloved protagonist Selin’s quest for self-knowledge, as she travels abroad and tests the limits of her newfound adulthood.

Elif will be in conversation with author Grace Lavery (pictured right), Associate Professor in the Department of English at UC Berkeley.

In its starred review of Either/Or, Publishers Weekly wrote, “Effervescent . . . Observant, defiant, and newly on antidepressants, Selin approaches the mystery of human relations with a beginner’s naivete and sharp intelligence . . .  Batuman’s light touch and humor are brought to bear on serious questions . . . As accomplished as The Idiot was, this improves upon it, and Batuman’s already sharp chops as a novelist come across as even more refined in these pages. Readers will be enraptured.”


NEW SHIPMENT OF ART TILES HAS ARRIVED

Included in our latest order from Michigan's Motawi Tileworks are several new designs - come take a look!


AUTHOR DROP-INS AT MRS. DALLOWAY'S

TYUS WILLIAMS is a wildlife ecologist whose new nonfiction book Big Cats: What Do Lions, Tigers, and Panthers Get up to All Day? is about the biggest cats on Earth. Young readers will meet sparring snow leopards, sprinting cheetahs, and slumbering jaguars in a book packed with animal facts and beautifully illustrated by Chaaya Prabhat.

After her launch party at Vintage Elmwood wine shop, author KATIE HENRY came by and signed store copies of her new young adult novel, Gideon Green in Black and White, a hilarious send-up of the hardboiled detective genre that spotlights family, friendship, and love.

LAUREN WOLK visited Mrs. Dalloway's following local school events to sign copies of her new book, My Own Lightning, a sequel to her Newbery Honor–winning debut, Wolf Hollow and a return to World War II–era Western Pennsylvania and protagonist Annabelle McBride, who continues to confront injustices in an increasingly complicated world.

Local author MEG FLEMING came by to celebrate the recent publication of not one, but two new children's books I Was Born a Baby is a fun, rhyming read-aloud  about baby animals and the names they share. Wondering Around is a picture book that reveals and celebrates the curiosity that comes from exploring the outdoors.

Children's author Muợn Thị Văn has teamed with award-winning illustrator Jessica Love to produce I Love You Because I Love You,  a lovely picture book that details big and small reasons why we love the people we do within a call-and-response picture book that features families across the spectrum.


STAFF PICKS

THIS TIME TOMORROW by Emma Straub. Straub deftly uses time travel in a fresh manner to weave a moving and endearing tale that in the end is about a daughter’s ache to “solve” her ailing father’s health issues and the eternal bond of love between them. Engaging, funny, hopeful. “It’s not about the time, it’s about how you spend it." - Eric

TWO NIGHTS IN LISBON by Chris Pavone. Ariel Pryce wakes up in Lisbon to find her husband is gone—no warning, no note, not answering his phone. Increasingly frantic, she enlists hotel security, the police, and the American embassy, and their collective curiosity increases the tension. Slow reveals add to the enjoyment and Pavone wraps it all up in fine fashion. - Hut

TRUST by Hernan Diaz. The hype is real - this is a fabulous book! It's a literary puzzle box, consisting of four fictional "books" in one, all covering the secretive couple at the center of late 19th / early 20th century investment banking in NYC. Fans of inventive, well-written historical fiction: meet your next favorite novel! - Nick

SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR by Richard Roper (now in paperback). I loved this debut novel from Richard Roper - I read his second book (When We Were Young) first, and I'm so glad I didn't miss this one. Andrew lives in England and his job is to track down the next of kin for people who have died alone. At the same time he's created a fictional life for himself, and the big lie he's told his coworkers is slowly starting to unravel. This book is at turns hopeful, full of heartache, and absolutely lovely. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine- Carolyn

SUBURBAN DICKS by Fabian Nicieza (now in paperback). This irreverent and funny - and not always politically correct - murder mystery explores racial tensions and prejudice in a New Jersey suburb after the murder of a gas station attendant. The two sleuths - a (very) pregnant former FBI profiler turned suburban mom and a disgraced journalist - are quirky and wisecracking, as befits an author who co-created Deadpool. What a wild debut! - Hut

THE CANDY HOUSE by Jennifer Egan (autographed copies on hand). Midway through The Candy House, one character comments, “Things are interwoven in ways we don’t understand.” Quite an apt description for this novel. Egan voices multiple narrators over multiple decades to tell an interconnected tale centering around the Uber-Social-Media of the near future, its effects on one’s family, friends, memory, and the meaning of authenticity in a collective mental world. It’s a mesmerizing experience. - Eric


MAY IS ASIAN AMERICAN PACIFIC ISLANDER
HERITAGE MONTH!
 
Here are just some of the wonderful new children's books by Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) authors and illustrators featuring characters and stories that reflect the diversity of AAPI culture. Our online list has a more extensive collection of books, for brand new readers to young adults. The list features books that have come out in the last 12 months and will be updated throughout the year. Check back often to find books perfect for reading every month of the year, not just in May!
MASKING IN MRS. DALLOWAY'S
 
To our customers and guests,
 
In accordance with Alameda County and City of Berkeley health guidelines, we continue to require masks if your vaccination status is not “up-to-date.”
 
To keep everyone as healthy as possible during this transition time, all Mrs. Dalloway’s staff will continue to wear face masks. We strongly request that all customers also wear face masks. We feel this is the best approach at this time to continue to protect our staff, their loved ones, and our customers of all ages. We very much appreciate your cooperation and assistance!
 
Thank you,
Eric & Jessica Green, Owners
 

LISTEN UP - Audiobooks from Libro.fm

We're delighted to be offering our customers an independent source for audiobooks, offered through our partnership with Libro.fm. Here's a little about the company, in its own words: 

"By choosing Libro.fm over other audiobook services, you support your local bookstore and invest in your local community. We offer over 125,000 audiobooks via our premium platform (which we built with love from scratch) and give you bookseller recommendations for great audiobooks. And when you contact us, you'll hear directly from one of our team members who will ensure your listening experience is unmatched."

Next Event

CAPACITY FOR THIS EVENT HAS NOW BEEN REACHED. If you would like to be added to  our waiting list, please sign up at this link no later than 4pm on June 1

Join us for ELIF BATUMAN discussing her highly anticipated new book Either/Or. The novel is a sequel to The Idiot, which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and continues her beloved protagonist Selin’s quest for self-knowledge, as she travels abroad and tests the limits of her newfound adulthood.

Elif will be in conversation with writer Grace Lavery (pictured right), Associate Professor in the Department of English at UC Berkeley, author of  Please Miss: A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Penis.

In its starred review of Either/Or, Publishers Weekly wrote, “Effervescent . . . Observant, defiant, and newly on antidepressants, Selin approaches the mystery of human relations with a beginner’s naivete and sharp intelligence . . .  Batuman’s light touch and humor are brought to bear on serious questions . . . As accomplished as The Idiot was, this improves upon it, and Batuman’s already sharp chops as a novelist come across as even more refined in these pages. Readers will be enraptured.”

Due to ongoing COVID concerns and customer safety considerations, we will be limiting the number of attendees at our in-store events. To that end, please note the following and thank you for your understanding.

THIS EVENT is free but pre-registration is required. If you would like to attend, please sign up at this link no later than 4pm on June 1. You may also sign up at the store.

ATTENDANCE IS LIMITED to 40 people, chosen in order of registration date.

BECAUSE SEATING is limited, please register only if you plan to attend.

WE ARE NOT ABLE to accommodate any walk-ins that evening.

WE ASK that attendees arrive no later than 6:45pm for the event.

PROOF OF up-to-date vaccination and boosting will be required at the door, as will masking for attendees during the event.

Wednesday, June 1, 2022 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Either/Or Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525557593
Availability: Most titles are on our shelves or available within 1-5 days.
Published: Penguin Press - May 24th, 2022

Twitter