Skip to main content

News & Events

November 2014

  • Come on by to meet some favorite authors, and get $10 credit on your AmEx bill with a purchase at Mrs. Dalloway's.

    Saturday, November 29, 10:00am

    A terrific two-fer! Local authors will be on hand to schmooze and recommend books, and American Express customers will get $10 back on their purchases! What's not to like?

  • The quartet returns to play classic jazz and holiday tunes in front of the store. Rain date: Sunday, December 14, 2-4 p.m.

    Sunday, November 30, 2:00pm

December 2014

  • A holiday favorite! Join us for fruitcake and cheer!

    Tuesday, December 2, 7:30pm

    Originally published in 1956, this is the story from Capote's childhood of lovingly making fruitcakes from scratch at Christmas-time with his elderly cousin, and has stood the test of time.

  • reading from Stay Up with Me: Stories (Ecco, $13.99).

    Thursday, December 4, 5:00pm
    Doe Library, UC Berkeley

    “Barbash is a true craftsman who sweats over every sentence, and that artistry makes you want to read the next story…"--New York Times

January 2015

  • Launch party and reading for Table Talk: From the Threepenny Review (Counterpoint, $28).

    Tuesday, January 13, 7:00pm

    "An invigorating collection of passionate, spirited voices." --Kirkus

  • reads from Hall of Mirrors: The Great Depression, The Great Recession, and the Uses -- and Misuses -- of History (Oxford, $29.95).

    Thursday, January 15, 7:30pm
  • presents Grow a Little Fruit Tree: Simple Pruning Techniques for Small-Space Easy Harvest  (Storey, $16.95).

    Friday, January 16, 7:30pm

    “Ann Ralph argues her case for pruning with such deep knowledge, and wit, and obvious affection for fruit trees, that you cannot help but be converted.  A delightful and useful book!”--Mike Madison

  • reads from Visions of Loveliness: Great Flower Breeders of the Past (Swallow Press, $29.95).

    Thursday, January 22, 7:30pm
  • reads from his essay collection, River of Ink: [An Illustrated History of Literacy] (Counterpoint, $35).

    Wednesday, January 28, 7:30pm

    "A voracious reader who can clarify the present with knowledge of the past, accessibly summarize a subject, and share a fine story."--Publishers Weekly

  • reads from Becoming Richard Pryor (HarperCollins, $27.99).

    Thursday, January 29, 7:30pm

February 2015

  • reads from her new novel, The Sacrifice (Ecco, $26.99)

    Monday, February 9, 7:30pm
  • Launch and reading for Granada: A Pomegranate in the Hand of God (Counterpoint, $26).

    Tuesday, February 10, 7:30pm
  • release party for her poetry volume, Waiting to Be Called.

    Thursday, February 19, 7:30pm