Outrun the Moon

Outrun the Moon Cover Image
$17.99
Most titles are on our shelves or avaialble within 1-2 days

This novel is nowhere near my typical wheelhouse; there are no aliens, no dragons, no ghosts...well, maybe one ghost. BUT, I am so glad that I picked it up and as soon as I did I couldn’t put it down. Mercy Wong (the hero of this story) has all of the characteristics I hope for my future daughter, she is strong, kind, brilliant, and she doesn’t let anyone tell her what she can or cannot do. And, for a Chinese American girl in 1906 San Francisco, there are a lot of things that Mercy is told she can’t do. But what she can do, and does very well, is spread compassion, refuse to back down against injustice, and be a hero in a time of need, even when those that need her help are the same people who wanted her gone. Beautifully written, topical, and just generally well done, Outrun the Moon will give you ALL THE FEELS! -- Chelsa

— From Outrun the Moon

Description


From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult
Winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare's School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare's is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong--until disaster strikes.

On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy's home and school. Now she's forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can't sit by while they wait for the army to bring help--she still has the "bossy" cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?

Stacey Lee masterfully crafts another remarkable novel set against a unique historical backdrop. Strong-willed Mercy Wong leads a cast of diverse characters in this extraordinary tale of survival.

About the Author


Stacey Lee is a fourth generation Californian with roots in San Francisco Chinatown. Born in Southern California, she graduated from UCLA then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. She has lots of experience with earthquakes, having skinned her knees more times than she wants to remember diving under tables. One day she hopes to own a hypoallergenic horse and live by the sea. Visit Stacey at www.staceyhlee.com. See what she's up to on Twitter: @staceyleeauthor.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399175411
ISBN-10: 0399175415
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 24th, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English
Share this
Share this