The Gracekeepers

The Gracekeepers Cover Image
$25.00
Most titles are on our shelves or avaialble within 1-2 days

An entrancing tale perfect for fans of Station Eleven and The Night Circus! I loved this watery post-apocalyptic world of supple prose and hardscrabble wonders.

~Fiona

 

— From The Gracekeepers

Description


For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water
As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.
In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.
Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
Finalist, Lambda Literary Award.

About the Author


KIRSTY LOGAN is an award-winning writer based in Scotland. She regularly performs her stories at events and festivals around the UK and Europe. The Gracekeepers is her debut novel.


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780553446616
ISBN-10: 0553446614
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Publication Date: May 19th, 2015
Pages: 320
Language: English
Share this
Share this